Maine Treasurer, Henry E.M. Beck announced the state’s participation in the United States Mint American Innovation $1 Coin Program, a multi-year series to honor innovation and innovators by issuing $1 coins for each of the 50 states. Four new $1 coins with distinctive designs will be released each year from 2019 through 2032. Maine’s $1 Innovation Coin is scheduled for release in 2024.

The Office of the State Treasurer, (OST) will be accepting submissions from the public by mail, email and its website ( through June 1, 2021.

Treasurer Beck made clear that the ideas should not include artistic renditions, but rather be concepts in writing only, supporting the reason behind the idea.

Once Maine people submit concepts, a selection committee will assist Governor Mills in determining the concept for approval by the US Treasury. The US Treasury then will use its own artists to create a design for Maine’s coin that is emblematic of the innovation concept approved by the committee.

FMI about criteria for submissions, go to or contact Gregory Olson, Deputy Treasurer by phone 624-7477 or email

FMI about the National Program,

The Office of the Treasurer of State is established in Article V, Part Third of the Constitution of the State of Maine. The core duties of the Treasurer’s Office are debt management, cash management, trust fund administration and unclaimed property administration. Other major tasks assigned to the Treasurer are directorships on many of Maine’s quasi-governmental debt issuing agencies and distributions under the Municipal Revenue Sharing Program.

Megan Diver

Megan has worked in Maine politics for more than ten years and all of her professional career, having served in many roles for elected officials (including former Secretary of State Charlie Summers), in-house with the Maine Association of REALTORS®, legislative specialist at Pierce Atwood LLP providing lobbying services and support to Pierce Atwood’s government relations clients and most recently senior government relations specialist at the Maine State Chamber of Commerce. Megan currently is the Vice President at the Maine Energy Marketers Association, utilizing her vast knowledge and legislative experience at the State House to represent MEMA on policies relating to the Association and its members.