Governor Janet Mills and Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap signed a proclamation on Monday, December 14, 2020, announcing a special election for the Maine Senate District 14 seat.

The special election is scheduled for Tuesday, March 9, 2020. This Senate seat was previously held by Senator Shenna Bellows of Manchester, who declined to be sworn into her seat upon re-election, as she was subsequently elected to the position of Secretary of State on Dec. 2, 2020.

Senate District 14 includes the municipalities of Chelsea, Farmingdale, Gardiner, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Pittston, Randolph, Readfield, West Gardiner, and Winthrop.

Maine’s three political parties, the Democrats, Green Independents and Republicans, will now caucus to choose candidates for the seat. Candidate nominations are due to the Office of the Secretary of State by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 8, 2021. Non-party candidates must circulate petitions and obtain the signatures of at least 200 registered voters in Senate District 14. The deadline to submit the petitions to the Secretary of State is by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 8, 2021 after first having the signatures certified by the applicable municipalities. Write-in candidates must declare their candidacy by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 15, 2021. Non-party petition forms and write-in candidate declaration forms may be obtained by contacting the Elections Division of the Secretary of State at 207-624-7650.

The candidate who is elected by the voters in Senate District 14 at the March 9, 2021 special election will serve the full two-year term in the Maine Senate.

Megan Diver

Megan has worked in Maine politics for more than ten years and all of her professional career, having served in many roles for elected officials (including former Secretary of State Charlie Summers), in-house with the Maine Association of REALTORS®, legislative specialist at Pierce Atwood LLP providing lobbying services and support to Pierce Atwood’s government relations clients and most recently senior government relations specialist at the Maine State Chamber of Commerce. Megan currently is the Vice President at the Maine Energy Marketers Association, utilizing her vast knowledge and legislative experience at the State House to represent MEMA on policies relating to the Association and its members.