Changes to state minimum wage laws went into effect at the start of the new year. Maine’s hourly minimum wage went from $12 to $12.15.
Starting in 2021, Maine will now begin increasing the minimum wage based on the price of living index in the state each year. For the last three years, Maine’s minimum had increased by $1, following a referendum approved by voters in 2016.
The minimum wage has also risen for workers who earn wages partially in tips. The minimum wage for tipped employees is now $6.08 per hour.
The state labor commissioner, Laura Fortman, said the Maine Department of Labor estimates 1,600 Maine workers will be newly eligible for overtime pay protection.