The credit is currently set to expire at the end of 2022. This legislation would extend it through 2025 at the current rate of $1 per gallon.

The House bill (H.R.3472) is sponsored by Reps. Cynthia Axne (D-IA-3) and Mike Kelly (R-PA-16). It currently has 24 additional cosponsors including Reps. Larson (D-CT-1), Courtney (D-CT-2), DeLauro (D-CT-3), Himes (D-CT-4), and Cicilline (D-RI-1). You can read the official announcement online here.

The Senate bill (S.1806) is sponsored by Sens. Chuck Grassley (R-IA) and Maria Cantwell (D-WA). It currently has nine additional cosponsors including Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH). You can read the official announcement online here.

Megan Diver

Megan has worked in Maine politics for more than ten years and all of her professional career, having served in many roles for elected officials (including former Secretary of State Charlie Summers), in-house with the Maine Association of REALTORS®, legislative specialist at Pierce Atwood LLP providing lobbying services and support to Pierce Atwood’s government relations clients and most recently senior government relations specialist at the Maine State Chamber of Commerce. Megan currently is the Vice President at the Maine Energy Marketers Association, utilizing her vast knowledge and legislative experience at the State House to represent MEMA on policies relating to the Association and its members.